Mentorship

Mentorship… What is Mentorship?
According to Google dictionary, a mentor is “an experienced and trusted advisor.” Mentor is synonymous with adviser, guide, guru, counselor, consultant, etc. As a verb, to mentor, means to “advise or train (someone, especially a younger colleague).” According to the Merriam-Webster online dictionary, a mentor is “someone who teaches or gives help and advice to a less experienced and often younger person.” Synonymous with tutor, coach, counsel, lead, guide, pilot, shepherd, and show. (http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/mentor, accessed June 20, 2014).

I would like to share my story of how mentorship helped me grow as a young female academic surgeon, but before I do that, let me explain the two reasons why I didn’t need a mentor.

Mentors, Huh, Good God, What Are They Good For, Absolutely Nothing, Listen to Me.
First, I didn’t need a mentor because I am, and have always been, an independent girl.

My parents instilled in me at a young age, that if I wanted something, I had to be independent and work hard. I babysat for spending money, became a cashier as soon as I had my worker’s permit, and took a second job as a recreation counselor during the summers of high school. My family didn’t have any money to pay for college, so it was my responsibility to earn a scholarship. Instead of feeling sorry for myself, I made a game of it. I bet my mother that if I got straight A’s every semester of every year of high school, then she had to quit smoking. That is exactly what I did. Like most surgeons, I love a good challenge.

The second reason I didn’t want a mentor was because they were too negative and judgmental. The only experience I had in college was with an awful guidance counselor who met with small groups of students during orientation week. When I asked about working during college this woman, (who’s name I blocked out of my mind), told me, “there is no way you can keep up your grades and work during the semester.” Apparently she was unaware that some students had no choice but to have a job during the semester.

That did not deter me; I went on to graduate Magna Cum Laude while waitressing in Atlantic City. What that counselor didn’t realize was that, just as I love a challenge, I thrive off of doubt.

The Positive Side of Mentorship.
In medical school I had a great time during orientation week with a pair of peer-mentors (second year medical students). I’m pretty sure this was the point when I first realized the value of mentorship. It was so helpful to have people with ever-so-slightly more experience than I had, to help me learn what to expect in the next chapter of my life.

During the first two years of surgical residency, I did not have a mentor. By
the end of second year, our residency program decided to assign residents faculty mentors to work with. Since I was going into the lab, I was exempt. Let me tell you, it was such a relief! I did not need a mentor. I did not need somebody to tell me what to do with my life. Plus I had not even decided what kind of fellowship I would like to do; so I did not think it would be helpful what so ever.

Little did I realize, that choosing to go into research meant automatic mentorship. There was no way around it. Mentorship involves seeking advice from somebody with more experience than you (I needed all the help I could get).

I dove right into clinical and outcomes research with no idea what I was doing. When I finally accepted the fact that I didn’t know everything (and it was ok to ask for advice), I actually found a handful of mentors.

Just a Few of My Mentors.
My chair, Dr. Anne Mosenthal, became my research mentor. I began working with additional attendings on a curriculum development project and found myself an educational research mentor from the emergency department, Dr. Sangeeta Lamba. At the meeting of the American College of Surgeons (ACS) and then the Western Trauma Association (WTA), I found a life mentor, Dr. David Livingston. In fact, as I became more comfortable working with the attendings, I started to realize just how many different people were available for advice.

After attending the Association for Academic Surgery (AAS) 2013 Fall Courses I was paired with an informal mentor, Dr. Caprice Greenberg. She provided me with invaluable objective advice about my future career. It was then that I first realized that I wanted to pursue a career in academic surgery.

At the Academic Surgical Congress (ASC) in February of 2014, I found myself a mentor for women surgery and social media, Dr. Amalia Cochran. After seeing her present about using Twitter at international conferences, I introduced myself. She is an amazing example of a young female academic surgeon who does it all; critical care and burn surgery, elegant blog writing, participating in both AAS and AWS, and speaking at national conferences.

At the same conference I found a group of mentors from the AAS with an interest in healthcare social media; Drs. Niraj Gusani, Ben Nwomeh, Christian Jones, KMarie Lombardo, Andrew Wright, Justin Dimick, Lillian Kao, and James Suliburk. Through these new contacts, I “met” (via social media and conference calls), Dr. Michael Zenilman who, in my opinion, is a master of organization.

How Mentorship Changed My Life.
First of all, it made me realize that I wanted to be an academic surgeon. While I still have no idea what fellowship to pursue, I at least know that I love outcomes and education research.

Second of all, mentorship gave me the confidence to overcome one of my biggest fears, public speaking. My first ever abstract was accepted to the outcomes plenary session at the Academic Surgical Congress (ASC). I was so excited about the acceptance that I completely overlooked the plenary part in the invitation. My research mentor congratulated me and said something like, “Wow! Congrats, that’s impressive, plenary session!” After Googling the definition of plenary, I nearly fainted. I was excited and overwhelmed at the same time. Then I got the map of the rooms for presenting… Needless to say, I went to the doctor and got a prescription for propranolol, just in case.

A couple weeks before my abstract presentation I had a meeting with my research mentor to review the presentation together. I told her how I was feeling a little bit nervous (which was the understatement of the century) and that I had the prescription for a beta-blocker, just in case. She looked at me with a surprised look on her face and said, “what for? That was great!” We had a long conversation about some of the negative effects of taking a beta-blocker before going on stage, like how it could bottom out your blood pressure, make you nauseous, or make your affect flat on stage. To take it one step further, she assured me that the ASC was a resident-friendly place. She explained how it’s a meeting for young academic surgeons and the audience would be cheering me on, hoping to see me do well. She believed in me so much that I actually gained confidence in myself. While I still brought the prescription with me, I never had to take it.

I have since presented at two other national meetings, as well as grand rounds at my own institution, and thanks to my mentors, I have never had to take any beta-blockers.

My social media mentors have encouraged me write, publish, and take chances. They have helped me develop new ideas, edited projects with me, and offered to participate in a national presentation if my idea is accepted.

Choosing a Mentor Who is Right for You.
There are different styles of mentoring, just as there are different styles of teaching. I think it is important to find a mentor who you can relate with on some level, whether it is a common research interest, common interest in specialty, or common interest in work-life balance. Good mentors are usually very busy people, but somehow always seem to have the time to sit down for a few minutes and talk.

How to Make the Most Out of Your Mentor.
1. Be clear about what your needs are
2. Set up some goals early
3. Ask for feedback (be receptive to it)
4. Schedule regular meetings

A Few Final Points:
1. Don’t limit yourself to one mentor. Different people are valuable in different ways.
2. Choose one mentor who works in a field you are considering
3. Choose a mentor who’s research you find interesting
4. Choose a mentor who is happy, easy-going, and approachable
5. Choose a mentor with a life outside of work (e.g., family, hobby) that interests you
6. Find another mentor outside your own institution (e.g., become a member of a society, or when you are at a national meeting) for an objective view
7. You may also want to choose a mentor who has experience with a task (e.g., negotiating a job, presenting an abstract)

Mentorship is a good thing. My hope is that the next generation of physicians is more receptive to the idea than I was.

I have to give credit, where credit is due. The wonderful women at the Association of Women Surgeons as well as a couple lectures that I attended at the AAS Fall Courses inspired this post.

Sarah Bryczkowski, MD
General Surgery Resident at Rutgers – New Jersey Medical School
PGY 5 (Clinical PGY 3)
On Twitter: @SarahB_MD

Sources:
Sanfey H, Hollands C, Gantt NL. Strategies for building an effective mentoring relationship. Amer J of Surg, 2013; 206:714-8.

Sandra L Wong, MD MS – Associate Professor of Surgery, University of Michigan. Lecture at the 2013 AAS Fall Courses, “Choosing a good research mentor: The key to success”

Julie Ann Sosa, MD MA – Professor of Surgery and Medicine (Oncology), Duke University School of Medicine. Lecture at AAS Fall Courses, “How to align yourself with the right mentor and become a mentor yourself.”

5 Comments

  1. Sarah, in an experience similar to your with your guidance counselor, our Associate Dean of Students told me at the beginning of my 4th year that I had “little to no chance” of matching into an academic surgery program, much less ending up in academic surgery. Once every few months I’m tempted to send her a copy of my CV 🙂

    Like

    1. Wow. It’s amazing how negative older generations can be. I think it’s better to be realistic and encouraging than to be pessimistic and discouraging.

      I would say yes send it, but I’m sure she had already seen what an amazing academic surgeon you have become.

      Like

  2. Congratulation on having a wonderful chance to have a mentor! In our country ( Czech Rep. , Europe ) this word does not have a meaning a and a female surgeon has to fight on her own trying to find the right way in medicine, research and work life balance. People tend to put you down far more often then to lift your spirit up. But it is nice to at least learn from your experience, thank you for sharing it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

